Te Rūnanga o Ngā Toa Āwhina

Māori members play an important part in the life of the PSA, the Public Service Association Te Pūkenga Here Tikanga Mahi.

Te Pukenga Here Tikanga Mahi (the PSA) is committed to honouring te Tiriti o Waitangi across the public sector and inside the union. Our structures ensure a Māori perspective can be heard at all levels of our organisation. 

Te Rūnanga o Ngā Toa Āwhina represents and promotes the interests of Māori members. It provides a network to ensure Māori have a voice across Te Pukenga Here Tikanga Mahi, from the workplace to the union’s top decision-making bodies.

The national committee of Te Rūnanga o Ngā Toa Āwhina is represented on the executive board.

At work

We want workplaces that reflect the Te Tiriti o Waitangi principles of partnership, good faith, and placing people at the centre.

We want inclusive workplaces with a culture of respect for diversity, with recognition of tikanga Māori and te reo Māori skills so Māori workers can fully contribute and be respected for their contribution.

Work must also recognise that people may have wider responsibilities to their whānau, hapū or iwi. In inclusive workplaces, everyone is treated with respect and treats others with integrity, manaakitanga and whanaungatanga.


IMG 5455 best4

Te Rūnanga O Ngā Toa Āwhina and ex-PSA President Mike Tana

Haere Mai 2019 Digital Page 1

Click here to read a digital copy of the Welcome In! booklet for Māori members

The PSA makes submissions to various organisations and the government on behalf of our members' interests.

Click below to download PDF copies of submissions by Te Tira Hauora o Te Rūnanga o Ngā Toa Āwhina o Te Pūkenga Here Tikanga Mahi

  • Submission re Electoral Act Entrenchment of Maori Seats Bill

    Submission re Electoral Act Entrenchment of Maori Seats Bill

Submission re Inquiry into Health Inequities for Maori

Submission re Inquiry into Health Inequities for Maori

Submission on Reform of the State Sector Act 1988

Submission on Reform of the State Sector Act 1988


For other PSA submissions, see our Submissions page here.

Nominations are now being sought for the Marlene Pitman award.

This award was originally created in honour of Marlene Pitman, who passed away on 16th January 2010, to recognise her membership and service of 25 years. As an activist at Child Youth and Family, she was convenor of the Social Services sector committee and an executive board member for 2 years, a delegate for 23 years and a hardworking member of Te Komiti o Te Rūnanga o Ngā Toa Āwhina.

Today this award not only honours Marlene’s contribution to the union, but provides an opportunity to recognise and celebrate the success of Māori PSA delegates who provide outstanding service to Māori.

The individual or group who receive this award will have shown outstanding leadership that is above and beyond the expected duties of the role they occupy by, for example:

  • Rangatiratanga – empowering Māori leadership
  • Whanaungatanga – developing workplaces that meet the needs of Māori both as individuals and collectively, recognising a specifically Māori voice in high engagement processes
  • Kaitiakitanga – leading work that secures specific working conditions and cultural identity for Māori in the workplace
  • Manaakitanga – leading work that promotes health and wellbeing for Māori in the workplace.
  • Wairuatanga – promoting the right for Māori to be Māori in the workplace
  • Whakahiato Umanga –promoting career development for Māori
  • Whakamana – developing in their workplace, including growing Māori membership environment
  • Kotahitanga – building solidarity and unity both among Māori members and between Māori and the wider PSA membership

Nominations can be completed by filling out and returning this form. It is important to note when filling out the nomination form that the criteria required is clearly stated in your nomination form.

Any events or actions your nominee has taken part in should be reasonably current, but in some cases historical recognition will apply. A delegate may receive the award more than once.

Download the nomination form here.