Ministry for Primary Industries

The union for MPI staff

Kia ora and welcome to the PSA at the Ministry for Primary Industries. This information is for PSA members only.

Other pages - Bargaining and Projects, BorderHealth and Safety


Stronger Together

We have 1,500 members throughout NZ, in most areas and departments of MPI. The union works on -

  • National issues affecting all members
  • Workplace issues affecting a number of members in a workplace or department
  • Individual member support and advice including disciplinary matters

Strong Collective Agreement

The Collective Agreement at MPI which provides a comprehensive set of employment terms and conditions. It's bargained regularly so we can negotiate pay and seek to improve your conditions.

Support for members

The union is supported by dozens of member volunteers (workplace delegates). To support members and delegates there are PSA union organisers (officials) throughout NZ.

National Delegates - can be found in the tab below

Some of our successes (there are many!)

  • getting a decent pay increase for most members in 2021 during the Government "pay restraint"
  • removing the previous "discretionary" pay system and replacing it with a open and clear step pay system
  • significant equal pay jolt for lower paid Support / Admin staff
  • dozens of members supported through individual issues and disciplinary processes
  • putting in place a permanent agreed roster for Auckland BCS "rotational" staff for the first time since the role was introduced 

Comments / want to know something? 

Email the PSA MPI national organiser here

Facebook (private groups, members only)

WhatsApp (private group)

Convenors - 

Monique Williams (Wellington, Agricultural Investment Services) 

  • also a member of the MPI Diversity and Inclusion committee

Tess Keough (Wellington, Te Uru Rākau)

  • national delegate representative on the PSA Public Service delegate sector committee

Hinonga Mangai Maori -

Reremoana Sinclair

Committee - 

Andrew Dugmore (Border, CHC)

Chris Hearfield (Compliance - Fisheries Officers)

Dave Nendick (Wellington, Animal and Plant Health)

Diane Anderson (DSS)

Garreth Jay (Compliance - Fisheries Officers)

James Frost (Border, Auckland Airport)

Kevin Byrnes (Compliance - Animal Welfare)

Lisa Maria (DSS- Aquatic & Environment Health)

Logan Fenton (Health and Safety)

  • trained Health and Safety Representative
  • member of the MPI national health and safety committee

Laure Michon (Border, Dog Handlers)

Mira Bosman (Border, Auckland) (co-share with Nijita Nand)

Monique Williams 

Nijita Nand (Border, Auckland) (co-share with Mira Bosman)

Rob Way (Border, Wellington)

Tess Keough 

vacant -

  • Border, Regional Ports
  • Border, Queenstown / Otago

 

 

Voting area

More info

 

Monica Giles

Auckland upper NI

Biosecurity Support Officer

monica.giles@mpi.govt.nz

Andrew Blair

Auckland upper NI

BTIS

Andrew.Blair@mpi.govt.nz

Kavita Malik

Auckland upper NI

Verification Services

kavita.malik@mpi.govt.nz

Ian Stuart

Auckland upper NI

Agriculture and Investment Services

ian.stuart@mpi.govt.nz

Shannen Jordan

Auckland upper NI

M.Bovis

Shannen.Jordan@mpi.govt.nz

Ben Singh

BCS - Auckland

 

ben.singh@mpi.govt.nz

Dave Shaw

BCS - Auckland

 

david.shaw@mpi.govt.nz

Francesca Kerr

BCS - Auckland

 

Francesca.Kerr@mpi.govt.nz

Grace Taylor

BCS - Auckland

Kennels

Grace.Taylor@mpi.govt.nz

James Frost

BCS - Auckland

 

james.frost@mpi.govt.nz

John Allan

BCS - Auckland

 

John.Allan@mpi.govt.nz

Laure Michon

BCS - Auckland

Dog Handlers

laure.poley@mpi.govt.nz

Lisa Baird

BCS - Auckland

 

lisa.baird@mpi.govt.nz

Logan Fenton

BCS - Auckland

 

Logan.Fenton@mpi.govt.nz

Mira Bosman

BCS - Auckland

 

mira.bosman@mpi.govt.nz

Nijita Nand

BCS - Auckland

 

nijita.nand@mpi.govt.nz

Sesika Payne

BCS - Auckland

 

Sesika.Payne@mpi.govt.nz

Simon Annand

BCS – Auckland

 

simon.annand@mpi.govt.nz

Alice McKay

BCS - Central South

Christchurch

Alice.McKay@mpi.govt.nz

Andrew              Dugmore

BCS - Central South

Christchurch

andrew.dugmore@mpi.govt.nz

Janice White

BCS - Central South

Christchurch

Janice.White@mpi.govt.nz

Katie Todd

BCS - Central South

Christchurch

Katherine.Todd@mpi.govt.nz

Rob Wagener

BCS - Central South

Christchurch

Robert.Wagener@mpi.govt.nz

Vick Burton

BCS - Central South

Christchurch

Vicki.Burton@mpi.govt.nz

Christa Miller

BCS - Central South

Queenstown

Christa.Miller@mpi.govt.nz

Robert Way

BCS - Central South

Wellington

RobertJ.Way@mpi.govt.nz

Tess Keough

BCS - Central South

Wellington

Tess.Keough@mpi.govt.nz

Kevin Byrnes

Compliance

CS – Animal Welfare

Kevin.Byrnes@mpi.govt.nz

West Hill

Compliance

CS – Animal Welfare

west.hill@mpi.govt.nz

Chris Hearfield

Compliance

CS – Fisheries Officers

chris.hearfield@mpi.govt.nz

Garreth Jay

Compliance

CS – Fisheries Officers

garreth.jay@mpi.govt.nz

Shaleen Nandan

Compliance

CS – Food Safety

Shaleen.nandan@mpi.govt.nz

Ngaire Larsen

Compliance

CS - Investigations

ngaire.larsen@mpi.govt.nz

Jo Withell

Compliance

CS – Food Safety

Jo.withell@mpi.govt.nz

Di Anderson

DSS

 

diane.anderson@mpi.govt.nz

Lisa Maria

DSS

 

Lisa.Maria@mpi.govt.nz

Emma Bramley

DSS

 

Emma.Bramley@mpi.govt.nz

Tanya Greenwood

DSS

 

tanya.greenwood@mpi.govt.nz

Ben Boyd

DSS

 

Ben.boyd@mpi.govt.nz

Emma Milleza

DSS

 

Emma.Milleza@mpi.govt.nz

Geoff Dolan

Fisheries Observers

 

svkestrel@hotmail.com>

Janet Houston

Fisheries Observers

 

janet.houston@xtra.co.nz

John Schinkel

Fisheries Observers

 

john.schinkel7@gmail.com

Stuart Murray

Fisheries Observers

 

stukayak@gmail.com

Amy Hong Li

Target Evaluators

 

amy.hongli@mpi.govt.nz

Gavin Hansen

Target Evaluators

 

Gavin.Hansen2@mpi.govt.nz

Jamie Davis-Kristensen

Target Evaluators

 

jamie.davis-kristensen@mpi.govt.nz

Roxy Montesclaros

Target Evaluators

 

Roxenne.Montesclaros@mpi.govt.nz

Katherine Hill

Target Evaluators

 

Katherine.Hill@mpi.govt.nz

Hillary Wilk  

Wellington

AIS

hilary.wilk@mpi.govt.nz

Monique Williams

Wellington

AIS

Monique.Williams@mpi.govt.nz

Cathy Blakely

Wellington

Compliance & Governance

Cathy.Blakely@mpi.govt.nz

Gail Duncan

Wellington

NZFS

gail.duncan@mpi.govt.nz

John van den Beuken

Wellington

NZFS

john.vandenbeuken@mpi.govt.nz

Taryna Koo

Wellington

NZFS

taryna.koo@mpi.govt.nz

Dave Nendick

Wellington

Animal and Plant Health, Manager, Treatments Team

dave.nendick@mpi.govt.nz

Kamila Skapa  

Wellington

Policy & Trade

Kamila.Skapa@mpi.govt.nz

Morag McDonald

Wellington

Policy and Trade

Morag.McDonald@mpi.govt.nz

Reremoana Sinclair

Wellington

Public Affairs

Reremoana.Sinclair@mpi.govt.nz

Toria Denofrio

Wellington

Public Affairs (on secondment)

toria.denofrio@mpi.govt.nz

Kristy Calvert

Wellington

Readiness and Response

Kristy.Calvert@mpi.govt.nz

Dave Currie

Wellington

Te Uru Rakau

dave.currie@mpi.govt.nz

Vanisha Pullan (Nisha)

Wellington

Te Uru Rakau

Vanisha.Pullan@mpi.govt.nz

Ryan Hughes

Wellington

Te Uru Rakau

ryan.hughes@mpi.govt.nz