Lower South Island update for PSA Youth

Now that the election results are finalised, we can be assured that there are 8 MP’s in the Lower South Island area, including the MP for Te Tai Tonga and 2 list MP’s based in Dunedin.

These are the representatives we are most likely to come into contact with, and some hold very important portfolios for our region, so starting from the top, here’s a run down of the locals:

Te Tai Tonga – Rino Tirakatene (Labour)
Entering his second term as MP for the largest electorate in NZ, Te Tai Tonga, Rino comes from a family with deep roots in the Labour party.  Rino is Spokesperson for Customs, and associate spokesperson for Maori Affairs, Forestry and Small Business.  Rino is based in Christchurch, but has connections across Ngai Tahu, and ably represents the Maori electorate for Te Wai Pounamu (the South Island).  More info here.

Waitaki – Jacqui Dean (National)
Jacqui is on two select committees, and is a member of National’s bluegreen team.  Her experience comes from local government primarily, however as local MP for Waitaki, she is also well aware of the important of farming and primary production to the local economy. More info here.

Dunedin North – Dr David Clark (Labour)
David is a second term MP with a varied history.  Seen as an MP for the future, David is spokesperson for Revenue and Small Business, and associate spokesperson for two of the major portfolios in Finance and Health.  David is extremely vocal in his support for Dunedin, and had an early success in his first term with his “Mondayising” bill, securing extra holidays for workers. More info here.

Dunedin South – Clare Curran
Clare is a 3rd term MP who is very active in her advocacy for Dunedin, including her support for the Hillside Workshops.  Clare is the spokesperson for ICT, Civil Defence and Emergency Management, and Open Government, and Associate Spokesperson for Regional Development and Economic Development. More info here.

LIST MP – Michael Woodhouse (National) 
Michael is a List MP based in the Dunedin North electorate.  Recently promoted following National’s gains in the polls, Michael is the Minister of Immigration, Minister of Police and Minister of Workplace Relations and Safety, signalling a rapid rise since his first term in 2008 to number 17 on National’s list. More info here.

LIST MP – Metiria Turei (Greens)
Metiria comes into her 5th term in Parliament as number 1 on the Greens List.  As co-leader of the Greens, Metiria is a staunch advocate for a fairer New Zealand, with her passion largely reflected in the Greens party policy - building a more equitable society; reducing unemployment, ending child poverty, ensuring all Kiwis live in warm, healthy homes and protecting our rivers and oceans for future generations. More info here.

Clutha-Southland – Todd Barclay (National)
A first term MP, Todd was raised in Dipton and Gore. He has established a strong mix of public and private sector experience in the public relations industry. Todd has worked for Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Finance and Infrastructure and immediate-past Clutha-Southland MP Bill English, provided administrative support in John Key’s office briefly, and for Gerry Brownlee. Following that, Todd worked as an advisor to Education Minister Hekia Parata.  More info here.

Invercargill – Sarah Dowie (National)
Another first term MP for the Nats, Sarah is the daughter of two police officers, and graduated from Otago University before being admitted to the Bar in 1998.  Sarah is has experience in commercial and environmental law, and was previously a manager for the Department of Conservation. More info here.