Member Q&A - Ayoe Hansen


Each month we talk to a PSA Youth member and find out about their work and passions.

If you want to be involved in this feature let us know at psay@psa.org.nz

Ayoe HansenThis month we catch up with Ayoe Hansen, Post Doctoral Researcher (Atmospheric Scientist) at NIWA, Lauder.

What were you initial thoughts on signing up to do this Q&A?

Why do they want a foreigner for this?

What is your job and what do you do on an average day at work?

I'm a post doctoral researcher (atmospheric scientist) at the National Institute of Water and Atmospheric research (NIWA), Lauder.

I'm studying climate-ozone links, to see what we expect future climate in New Zealand will be like and how it will change due to changes in the ozone layer.

My average day consists of computer programming to analyze our model results, literature study to keep up with the latest research within my field, and some writing/presentation of my results

What was a highlight at work for you in the past month?

Being invited to give a talk at a university in Berlin and organizing a visit to the UK Met Office next month.

What would you say is the hardest thing about your job?

The constant pressure to publish.

What brought you to join the PSA and the PSA Youth network?

Being from Denmark I've been brought up with encouragement to always join a union when possible; living in other countries (US and NZ) makes me realize how much hard work has been done by the unions (especially in Denmark) and how important it is that we continue this work and support our unions.

Name one (or more) things you like about the PSA Youth network
That it's specifically for younger people, for both networking and union work.

What is your vision for youth in the PSA?

Promote our working conditions and work for a living minimum wage (regardless of age).

How about when you aren't at work?  What else do you like to do with your time?

I do lots of CrossFit! and dance, do yoga, and travel.

H. C. Andersen said "To travel is to live"
(At rejse er at leve)

What are your three favourite foods?

Chocolate.

What are your three loves?

Friends, travel, and CrossFit & biking.

What are your (three) pet peeves?

Bad grammar, non-organic food, and people driving cars rather than biking.

What advice would you give your 18-year-old self?

Work hard and you can become what ever you want, but remember to take time off and enjoy life too.