Member Q&A - Temira Rissetto


Each month we talk to a PSA Youth member and find out about their work and passions.

If you want to be involved in this feature let us know at psay@psa.org.nz

Temira RissettoThis month we catch up with Temira Rissetto, Court Services Manager at MOJ, and Upper North Island PSAY Regional Convenor. 

What were you initial thoughts on signing up to do this Q&A?

Oh man! - Do I have to? (always my immediate reaction to everything).

What is your job and what do you do on an average day at work?

Court Services Manager at the Auckland District Court, I run the hustle and bustle of the criminal list courts and look after the staff who clerk them.  We prepare files, update them, look after the needs of judicial officers, stakeholders, defendants and vicitms. There is a lot of variety and it is hard to plan your day as the number of court appearances varies all day long due to arrests and voluntary appearances.  

What was a highlight at work for you in the past month?

Home Time!

What would you say is the hardest thing about your job?

Accepting that there are no winners when it comes to crime and punishment

What brought you to join the PSA and the PSA Youth network?

I joined the PSA as my father has been a member for 30+ years. I joined the youth network  to meet likeminded under 35s who could understand issues and challenges faced by those entering the workforce after study as well as housing, progression and general fairness in the workplace.

Name one (or more) things you like about the PSA Youth network:

I like that PSAY has training and development courses and conferences  which provide good grounding and skills that you can transfer to the workplace, providing opportunities that might otherwise not be avaliable.

What is your vision for youth in the PSA?

That we shall one day rule the world. No, seriously for us to collectively be proactive and vocal in all issues that affect us and that we get 100% voter turnout for this year's election. 

How about when you aren't at work? What else do you like to do with your time?

Mummy Stuff - swimming, athletics/rugby, attending free local events.

What are your three favourite foods?

Pasta, pizza and fair trade chocolate. 

What are your three loves?

My boy Montana,  Fair Trade coffee and laughter.

What are your three pet peeves?

Bad coffee, the current government and when spell check is disabled on my computer. 

What advice would you give your 18year old self?

Enjoy the alcohol, good food, great company and being able to live off the measly student loan $$ with the help from the parental unit as one day you will grow up! 

Anything else you would like to add?

Anyone want to volunteer to be our next Q & A member?