The Marlene Pitman Award

Nominations are now been sought for the Marlene Pitman award.

This award was originally created in honour of Marlene Pitman, who passed away on 16 January 2010, to recognise her membership and service of 25 years. As an activist at Child Youth and Family, she was convenor of the Social Services sector committee and an executive board member for 2 years, a delegate for 23 years and a hardworking member of Te Komiti o Te Rūnanga o Ngā Toa Āwhina.

Today this award not only honours Marlene’s contribution to the union, but provides an opportunity to recognise and celebrate the success of Māori PSA delegates who provide outstanding service to Māori.

The individual or group who receive this award will have shown outstanding leadership that is above and beyond the expected duties of the role they occupy by, for example:

Rangatiratanga – empowering Māori leadership

Whanaungatanga – developing workplaces that meet the needs of Māori both as individuals and collectively, recognising a specifically Māori voice in high engagement processes

Kaitiakitanga – leading work that secures specific working conditions and cultural identity for Māori in the workplace

Manaakitanga – leading work that promotes health and wellbeing for Māori in the workplace

Wairuatanga – promoting the right for Māori to be Māori in the workplace

Whakahiato Umanga – promoting career development for Māori

Whakamana – developing effective Māori organisation in their workplace, including growing Māori membership from a low base in a difficult environment

Kotahitanga – building solidarity and unity both among Māori members and between Māori and the wider PSA membership

Nominations can be completed by filling out and returning the form below. It is important to note when filling out the nomination form that the criteria required is clearly stated in your nomination form.

Any events or actions your nominee has taken part in should be reasonably current, but in some cases historical recognition will apply. A delegate may receive the award more than once.

Submit your nomination online at